RSS Feed

Social Media Overload

Posted on

One popular Twitter celebrity named Bill Zucker (Twitter account: @billzucker) said it in a great song:

Between Facebook and Twitter my life is in the shitter!

Who else feels like this? To be very honest I often do and I contemplated already several times whether whether I should quit my online presence.

Considering all the useless stuff that infiltrates my computer every day, very often it is just a waste of time. Over the years I was somewhat successful to weet-out most of the SPAM mail I receive in my active email box but subjected myself now to receive the same crap willingly through Twitter, Facebook, Friendfeed, LinkedIn and the latest Buzz – Google Buzz. Of course we cannot forget the Blogs we publish or subscribe to.

The scary part of it is that we seem to become addicted to it and if we don’t check our feeds at least several times a day, post a tweet or a status update we feel a certain guilt for neglecting our online presence.  We are afraid we will miss something or we will lose followers/connections.

MLM’s or Affiliate Marketers are flooding our feeds with useless marketing campaigns on how to become rich quick or how to increase you follower count by thousands a day.

There is not a day on which I don’t receive a Facebook request to join a certain group, fan page or cause and it becomes more than just annoying.

Between useless uninformative Twitter Feeds,  Facebook status updates, join or follow requests and my regular email it easily can become Social Media overload and I have days I just feel overwhelmed.

Oliver Schmid

About Oliver Schmid

Experienced IT executive with over 20 years of global experience and demonstrated success in driving IT value, business and IT, reducing overall costs, and quickly executing and delivering business solutions. Member of the International Association of Outsourcing Professionals (IAOP)

Leave a Reply

