RSS Feed

The Not So Social Social Media World Of LinkedIn …

Posted on

… or why do some people hide their identity behind the veil of anonymity?

Everybody has seen or experienced this who maintains an active LinkedIn profile.

Image representing LinkedIn as depicted in Cru...

Image via CrunchBase

Under the section > Who’s Viewed Your Profile? < you may see an entries like:

  • Someone at … (fill in any company name) … and maybe a general geographical area where this person may be located
  • Anonymous LinkedIn User
  • Someone on LinkedIn

Sometimes I wonder what these people have to hide behind their anonymity. Isn’t social media supposed to be open?

I can honestly say that I will never hide my identity.  If you are trying to find out who I am then it is only fair that I know who has that interest in me.

Even I might not be the biggest fan of Facebook I have an open Facebook account. In a matter of fact I maintain 2 accounts. One professional that is completely open and one private one only close family and very good friends have access to. The point I want to make here – I like the Facebook approach. Anyone I have not connected with ( I hate the term ‘befriended’) can only see my profile to a certain extend.

Maybe LinkedIn should establish a similar feature. Then again whatever I have on my profile can be seen and read by anybody. I have nothing to hide and if so, I would not put it on my profile.

Isn’t it only fair when I ask that I would like to see who is viewing my profile?

Else you are only a “Peeping Tom”!


About Oliver Schmid

Experienced IT executive with over 20 years of global experience and demonstrated success in driving IT value, business and IT, reducing overall costs, and quickly executing and delivering business solutions. Member of the International Association of Outsourcing Professionals (IAOP)

Leave a Reply

